3rd GCIVC-Prize winner


HE, Sihao

HE, Sihao (China)

Born in Shanghai in 1993, Sihao He began playing cello at the age of 9. At the age of 10, he was entered into the Middle School affiliated to Shanghai Conservatory of Music studied with Professor Meijuan Liu. As a soloist and chamber musician, he is a prize winner of many renowned competitions, such as the first prize of the International Antonio Janigro Cello Competition(under 20 years old) in Croatia, the first prize of the National of Professional Cello Competition for Young Cellist in Beijing, China, the second prize of the Canadian Morningside Music Bridge Concerto Competition, the fourth prize of the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians in South Korea. Recently he won the first prize of Macon Symphony Concerto Competition and the Grand Prize Winner and First-Place Winner of 2013 ASTA National Solo Competition in New York City. Mr. He is also a member of Simply Quartet. He is a cellist currently attending the Robert McDuffie Center for Strings at Mercer University, where he studies with Hans Jorgen Jensen and Julie Albers.


KIM, Min Ji

KIM, Min Ji (Korea)

Born in 1995, she graduated from Korea National institute for the Gifted in Arts inand Seoul Art High School in 2013. She won many prizes such as the first prize of the Segye Daily Competition and the winner of the Concerto Competition at the International Great Mountains Music Festival in 2010, the first prize at the Ewha-Kyunghyang Competition in 2011, Special prize at the Prague Spring International Music Competition in 2012 and she was selected as a semi finalist at the International Paulo Cello Competition. She has performed with Bucheon Philharmonic Orchestra, Guri Philharmonic Orchestra and Incheon Philharmonic Orchestra and Suwon Philharmonic Orchestra several times. She appeared on the GMMFS rising star series.


CHO, Brannon

CHO, Brannon (U.S.A.)

Born in 1994, Brannon Cho began playing the cello at the age of 7. After winning the Grand Prize at the NJASTA solo competition in 2005, he spent the following 5 summers at the Meadowmount School of Music with professor Hans Jensen. In 2011 and 2012, he attended the Heifetz Music Institute, studying with several esteemed professors. He won First Prize at the Lennox International Competition in 2011, Grand Prize at the 2010 ASTA National Solo Competition, First Prize at the 2012 Johansen International Competition, the Silver Medal and Audience Award at the 2012 Stulberg International Competition, the Silver Medal at the 2013 National Young Arts Festival. Subsequently, he performed as a soloist with the Colonial Symphony, the Richardson Symphony Orchestra, the Western Michigan University Symphony Orchestra, and performed with Christopher O’Riley in Carnegie Hall. In 2012, Brannon gave a master class and performed as a guest artist at the Eastern Washington University’s “Cellobration”. Recently he studies at Northwestern University with professor Hans Jensen.

The best performer of the Gaspar Cassado's work


CAÑON VALENCIA, Santiago (Colombia)

Born in 1995 in Bogotá Colombia, he began studies at the age of 4 and gave his first concerto performance with the Bogotá Philharmonic at the age of 6. After moved to New Zealand in 2007 to study with James Tennant, he received his Bachelor of Music Soloist Specialization from the University of Waikato with the highest honors in 2012: Hillary Medal for Outstanding Achievers and Creative and Performing Art Person of the Year Award 2012. Since 2007 he has performed over 100 recitals around the Pacific region and won major prizes including the first prize at the 2011 Gisborne International Music Competition in New Zealand, the second prize at the 2012 Johansen International String Competition in Washington D.C. and the top prize given at the 2010 Beijing International Cello Competition in China. Since 2011 he is sponsored by the Mayra and Edmundo Esquenazi Scholarship through Salvi Foundation. He is now doing a Performer Diploma degree with a full scholarship at Southern Methodist University with Maestro Andres Diaz.


First Stage
Second Stage
Final Stage
Award(s) Ceremony/Prize winner's Concert